You just got pulled over and charged with a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense. Since this is your first , you are probably wondering what the legal consequences are and how much money you will have to pay. You may also be wondering if any jail time will be involved or whether you will keep your driver’s license. The state of Tennessee has certain legal consequences for a first-time DUI offense. Be sure to talk to an experienced Tennessee criminal law lawyer to figure out what legal options you have for your defense.
Legal Consequences of First DUI Charge
In Tennessee, you could face various legal consequences for a first-time DUI offense. These consequences could involve jail time, driver’s license suspension, and fines. First off, you can be charged with a DUI in Tennessee if you are found with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater. This generally happens when you are pulled over by a cop who suspects you have been drinking while driving. If the field sobriety tests and breathalyzer tests support the officer’s suspicion, you could be charged with a DUI.
Once you are charged, you will have your driver’s license suspended for a year, will be required to participate in an alcohol treatment program, and could face a fine ranging from $350 to $1,500. You will be arrested and the amount of time you spend in jail will depend on how high your BAC level was and other factors like whether you harassed the police officer.
You will automatically spend at least seven days in jail if you are found with a BAC of 0.20% or higher. For other BAC levels, lower and higher, jail time could range from 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days. After you are released from jail and once you have your driver’s license returned, an ignition interlock device will be installed in your vehicle. This means you will have to do a breathalyzer test to start your car.
Costs of DUI Charge
When you add up all the DUI costs with $450 to $1,500 fines, bail fees, car towing, lawyer fees, jail time fees, probation fees, sentencing fees, drug test fees, and any other legal fees, the total amount can be thousands of dollars.
For example, towing fees can cost anywhere from $100 to $1,200 alone. Lawyer fees range from $1,500 to $5,000. Bail fees cost $100 to $2,500. Drug tests cost no more than $100 and court or other legal fees range from $10 to $1,200.
Criminal Law Lawyer in Tennessee
Defending yourself in court after being charged with a DUI for the first time can be difficult. Call Davis Law Firm at 865-354-3333 to speak with a Criminal law lawyer in Tennessee today. We are located in McMinnville, Johnson City, Sparta, Kingston, Crossville, Cookeville, and the surrounding areas. Our team of lawyers will work with you to investigate what happened and figure out what legal options you have for your defense. We will help you defend your rights.